An Old School Catholic Message Board

Living In The Present Moment

humbleheart

I made plans to enter a monastery not long after I graduated, but then my sister became seriously ill and I had to provide 24-hour live-in care. I have no regrets about that. She worries sometimes that she spoiled things for me, but every time she says that I reassure her that it was a privilege to help her get well and that I will always be grateful to God for giving us that gift of time together.

Then I became ill mentally, chiefly as a result of stress. At one point we didn't know whether my sister was going to live or die. The care she received from our local hospital was dreadful - on one horrible night she was left without pain relief for hours, no matter how many times I went to the nurses' station and begged them to help. Apparently she had to see the consultant before they could administer any more of the drugs, and this consultant so rarely showed up on the ward that I began to wonder if he was just a figment of our collective imagination.

I coped fine at the time of crisis. When my sister was discharged into my care, it was as if I didn't need to eat or sleep - I could sit up all night with her AND charge off to the hospital first thing in the morning to see advocates and pester doctors. But once she got better, all that energy left me and I found myself crashing to the floor. Now it's all I can do to get myself out of bed in the morning.