An Old School Catholic Message Board

Year-long Volunteer Service

OnlySunshine

As most of you know, I have been discerning religious life for 5 years now.  I am currently studying full-time towards a Bachelor's degree in Health Care Administration.  I'll be 30 years old in July and I'm still living at home with my parents -- something I'm not too thrilled about for many reasons.  I'm ready to step out on my own but I am not working right now and I don't have a car.  I have been thinking, for about 2 years, about doing a year-long volunteer service and I keep going back to Catholic Volunteer Network to look at all the different opportunities.  Most of the programs start in August and I really want to apply before the deadline.  I realize this means putting my education on hold but it's something I really want to do and NEED to do.

The trouble is: I don't know which program to select.  Obviously, I am interested in health care but I'd also be interested in doing clerical work, social service work, and working with the poor.  My friend is doing a semester of service with Christ in the City but their age limit is 28, unfortunately.  They look like an AMAZING group but they are out of the picture.  I looked at LAMP's requirements and saw psychological evaluation on there and about freaked out!  After having the evaluation for the community I applied to last summer, it's not something I really want to subject myself to again.  I've heard good things about them (especially from TJTM on here) but I must admit I'm fearful of that test.

I saw that the Joseph House, run by the Little Sisters of Jesus and Mary, is accepting volunteers and I already sent them an email asking for an application.  I also looked at Holy Family Services Birth Center and I'm thinking about asking about their clerical positions.

I'd appreciate any help with looking for service positions.  I'm looking for positions that have these:

Room and Board

Stipend (preferably over $200 a month)