An Old School Catholic Message Board

Help! Crippling Discernment Anxiety.

Ducky

Hi VS-ers! I'm new to phatmass, but I've been a lurker for a while... 

This may be a long-ish post, btw, but I'm looking for advice.

Background: I have anxiety and OCD, which I am currently on medication for. Sometimes the OCD manifests as scrupulosity, but not always. 

Basically, I sorta-kinda have discerned, and by discerned, I really just mean worried and worried about what God is calling me to for a few years. I suppose there are some aspects of religious life that appeal to me, but generally, I don't really want to be a sister. However, I've always kind of felt like I should want to be a sister. It's not really an idea that has occurred to me on my own (like, "hey! Being a sister would be great!"), but more like "I guess I should consider religious life." I always get this anxiety that God is calling me to be a sister even though I don't really want to. I've prayed about it and gotten to the point where I was exasperated and, trying to relieve the anxiety, asked for a sign. I was like, well I'm just going to open the Bible and whatever passage I flip to, God is speaking to me. And I opened to 1 Corinthians 7. (You know the one--it is better to remain unmarried and all that.) I freaked out and it totally did not help relieve my anxiety at all. 

So this has been going on for a few years--every so often, this worry will grab hold of me and I'll spend late nights looking at orders online, trying to find some kind of signal that NO this life is not for me or YES you are called to this, and spend nights crying and time in prayer begging for God to just make His will clear to me. Once, I found some order online in the middle of the night that I felt I would be happy in, and I accepted that and was at peace for like a day, and then NOPE! So this sort of cycles.