An Old School Catholic Message Board

A Connection Between Religion And Obesity?

southern california guy

southern california guy

I work as a local truck driver and I am starting to notice that a large number of the really religious people (People with many religious -- "Christian" -- stickers on their car) are obese...

I have done several searches on the internet and I have found several discussions about it.  People argue that part of the reason these people are so fat is that they are replacing things like coffee, tea, wine, cigarettes, and anything sexual (dancing, flirting, socializing with the opposite sex, trying to dress attractively, making love, etc.) -- with food.  

Other people argue that the people who are more religious are also more stressed -- and they are eating to deal with the stress.  They argue that many of the religious are poor.  I've noticed that wealthier people -- as a group -- tend to be slimmer.

Still other people argue that a religious person is not supposed to vain and focused on exercise and his/her appearance -- and they use this as an excuse to overeat and not bother with exercise -- or they might be criticized if they were caught exercising?

Here is a link from CBS news : http://www.cbsnews.com/news/obesity-battle-does-god-make-you-fat/

And another from ABC news: http://abcnews.go.com/Health/Diet/faith-fat-religious-youths-obese-mid-life/story?id=13204624

The ABC news report didn't control for location.  The CBS report didn't load.  It's also not clear how they define 'religious'.

Not granting the conclusions, some of the explanations sounded reasonable.   There are also other reasonable explanations that spring to mind that were not mentioned in the articles.  The most obvious that religious people get married and have kids sooner.   Don't make me explain why this causes people to gain weight vs being single.

southern california guy