An Old School Catholic Message Board

My Weird Vocation Journey

superblue

So my flippant attitude here aside, I have been considering a religious life for a few years now, had my chance with my diocese and now I have been researching for a while and reading up on St. Benedict ( The Rule ) and an order that is in driving distance of me.

I see a lot of hope for a productive life in service to Christ and the Church hopefully as a Brother or a Priest,,,, getting there is the challenge,

College is moving along, if I get things in gear and my local college doesn't drop classes I need, theoretically I can graduate sometime next year. 

My plan was to sometime next year make a come and see visit with this Benedictine order, which is going to happen and I am grateful that I will be moving in that direction.....

The " but "

I have fallen into I guess an online relationship with a great person, who is states away, and diagnosing things, I see how I value having that connection and friendship and knowing that I am worth something to a woman, it means a lot. The obstacles though are just insane,  like trying to build a ship with no tools and no help.  I try to limit the amount of time I spend talking to her and have been doing good at that,  I am just finding everything so sad, I had a plan, I have been burned really hard in online dating before, I had zero intention of developing another one ever again, I can honestly say I am not spending every minute thinking of her, or wanting to talk to her, I just hate having feelings for her knowing things can not develop due to distance, and a lot of other issues.