An Old School Catholic Message Board

How To Move On?

Cantantibus

So, Ive been discerning for about 3 years now. I really felt like God was calling me to be a sister and I went on a vocation retreat, which reaffirmed this belief. I was also close to asking for papers to enter this fall, but after talking to my parents, that's never going to happen and it (at this point) seems unlikely that I will ever enter. To say the least, I'm crushed and despite my efforts, I've been unable to get out of this funk. 

How do you move on from this? Thanks :)

(if it helps, I'm in college)

How do you know for sure that you are never going to enter? Nothing is impossible to God. What is preventing you from doing this?

IgnatiusofLoyola

So, Ive been discerning for about 3 years now. I really felt like God was calling me to be a sister and I went on a vocation retreat, which reaffirmed this belief. I was also close to asking for papers to enter this fall, but after talking to my parents, that's never going to happen and it (at this point) seems unlikely that I will ever enter. To say the least, I'm crushed and despite my efforts, I've been unable to get out of this funk. 

How do you move on from this? Thanks :)

(if it helps, I'm in college)

I'm so sad that this is happening to you. I feel helpless (other than prayer) because I am not a Religious or someone who has been through discernment. However, Vocation Station has a number of members who can be of help and support to you, but they are not logged in right now, and some of our members don't/can't log in every day. So, please be patient. We really do care. And, in the meantime, I will pray for you.