An Old School Catholic Message Board

What Are You Doing This Lent?

PhuturePriest

PhuturePriest

I'm doing all the same things I do every year, but this time I'm adding stuff. My list goes as such:

Pray a minimum of an hour a day (Mass doesn't count)

Read Life of Christ (Or something else of that ilk once I read all of it) an hour a day

Spiritual reading 30 minutes a day

Reading the Bible 15 minutes a day

No pop

Internet use only 4 hours a day

Fast Wednesday and Fridays

And finally, go vegan. I've never done this before, so it will be quite interesting. I mentioned it to my sister, and then she said that it's actually a practice Eastern Catholics do, so obviously it's in good taste. :|

Let's hope my love of bread, rice, noodles, and the occasional pizza are able to keep me going until Sundays.

Perhaps we should make this into a Lenten Support Group? We can talk on here throughout Lent to keep everyone accountable, and reproachfully shame those who simply didn't love Christ enough to not eat a chocolate bar. :|

Careful that you have a solid diet plan if you are going vegan. It would be easy to accidentally neglect something important.

PhuturePriest

Careful that you have a solid diet plan if you are going vegan. It would be easy to accidentally neglect something important.

My diet is so awful now that my body is craving a vegan diet, I assure you. Fruit and rice will make it feel better than it has since I was but a zygote.

I recommend peanut sesame noodles. Katy and I have a really good recipe for it. Throw in some tofu lightly fried in peanut butter for the extra protein. Chopped toasted peanuts and cilantro on top. Great stuff. Wonderful texture, and a good amount of heat.

Sounds yummy! A lot of people I know just eat South- or East-Asian food during the fasts, because it's tasty, healthy and vegan. If I were to just subtract the meat and dairy from my normal diet, I'd go bonkers! :)

And I think I'm going to give away my laptop this Lent...