An Old School Catholic Message Board

Winning the lottery...

KarenJoanna

KarenJoanna

So, I am a huge Doctor Who fan, and I read that the doctor gives a winning lottery ticket to one of his companions he got from traveling into the future as he is a time traveler. I know time travel is not real (obviously), however, IF anyone traveled into the future and went back to the present to win the lottery would it be morally wrong or is it acceptable? I am just very curious because it's not like being psychic, where it would be a sin. I know it's a stupid question, but I like thinking too much :)

Nihil Obstat

Hm. Good question. I guess it boils down to whether or not insider information would be immoral in the context of a lottery. In a card game it would be cheating, and a lottery is similar to a card game and other forms of gambling, but is it similar enough? 

On the other hand, in this case our I side information is gained through licit, albeit unusual means. There is no deceit involved. Just an inherent and perfect advantage.

I will have to think more. I am inclined to think it might be acceptable, but I am not totally confident.

Credo in Deum

I think what would come into play would be what conduct is one morally obligatted to follow when traveling through time?  Furthermore is time travel itself morally permissible?  

Edited by Credo in Deum

Nihil Obstat

I think what would come into play would be what conduct is one morally obligatted to follow when traveling through time?  Furthermore is time travel itself morally permissible?  

I should think it would be as long as it was not through occult means. No more than it is immoral for humans to fly or prolong life.

AccountDeleted