An Old School Catholic Message Board

Parents against vocation

Young Searcher

Young Searcher

Please excuse my english, im not really good at it.

I just want to share something.

Before I got too involved in our parish, I had a dream that I was a nun. I believed that's the first part of my "calling" but during that time, I wasn't really aware of how imporant is that to my life.

Until I participated a 4-day Search In the Siervas de Maria Convent and realized that everything was really planned for me.

Like, I had to stop studying because of financial problem then I got too attached to our church as if it was already my home. Til one of my co-parishoners sent me the good news via text message asking if I want to attend the Search In the convent. Of course, my mother doesnt want me to go because she said that I might be carried by the sisters but I said "Dont worry ma, I promise that I won't be like them." It slipped out of my mouth because I was too depressed to go in the convent, I don't know why but it felt like my heart was the one forcing me :)

As we finished the search in, I felt in love with the religious life: Dedicating yourself to God, becoming the spouse of Christ, living in the virtues of Virgin Mary.

But my parents, especially my mother who was not a catholic, was forcing me not to follow my vocation. She even made me think that when I enter the religious life, expect that I don't belong to their family ever. All I can do was to cry and defend my vocation inspite of her offending words :'(

I don't know what to do.

I understand that we're not a wealthy family. There's only two of us whom our parents will depend when they get old. But do they also think about my vocation? They're killing me inside :( crushing my heart into pieces. 

I don't want to hurt their feelings, BUT I WANT TO FOLLOW JESUS! I can hear him calling my name :')

MarysLittleFlower

Please excuse my english, im not really good at it.

I just want to share something.