An Old School Catholic Message Board

What do Religious do on vacation?

John Paul

sr.christinaosf

hoping to go to spend a few days with our sisters in Rugby again after Labor Day.  R&R, maybe a little project and some cooking?  Who knows?

Sr Mary Catharine OP

Absolutely...ice cream! When I was a novice of an active community we would rent a house on Cape Ann and take turns for a few days. It was more like retreat. We went to daily Mass and did all our prayers privately. We each fended for ourselves for meals although we usually ended up sharing the cooking. We could go swimming because the house had a little private beach. We would go for walks, take naps, read, and just sit on the porch and enjoy the beauty of God's creation. 

Over time I have found that one of the real austerities of contemplative life is never having a vacation. We DO take retreat days but it's not the same. 

But we do eat ice cream!

Credo in Deum

When my brother discerned with the Carmelite Monks he said when they would go into town they would hit up Wendys, lol.  They liked to get big burgers and see who could eat the entire thing.  We outside of religious life might not understand how this can be a challenge, but when you're fasting most of the time on a plant based diet, eating an entire triple patty cheeseburger with everything on it can be a big challenge. :hehe:

Visit family and friends (4 days for me this summer, due to summer experiments/placements). Others visit society houses across the province or in another country. Others pursue hobbies or social projects (usually studies) or maybe go on a retreat or a pilgrimage. I need to do more work on my Spanish. I eat ice cream too when I get the chance :smile2: