An Old School Catholic Message Board

"Pope's Visit" Commercial

Pia Jesu

Surely, most have viewed the Twitter App (Moments) commercial featuring Pope Francis.  It shows the Holy Father joking, performing a "magic trick" (whipping off an altar cloth), spinning a basketball, losing a cap to a wind gust--and having his mozetta (cape) blow over his head.  Not knowing whether to smile or cringe (and feeling a bit of unease), I wonder if the commercial is...

--emblematic of some sort of postmodern understanding that authority figures (like the Pope, heads of state, even the police) possess undue influence on people and need to be "humanized" or possibly diminished in some way

--simply a media "grab" using a well-known, controversial figure to market a product

--an attempt to "reshape" an ancient institution that many believe to be in decline

--just another example of how well the media understands psychological theories of influence and persuasion

As a former teacher, I realize how levity (and humor) can help diffuse difficult situations (read recalcitrant students) and redirect behaviors.  Is this dynamic at work here?  Are Catholic conservatives (prelates, the laity and commentators) subliminally being targeted?  One of the comments on You Tube applauded the video saying that the Pope is "not for God, but for the people."