An Old School Catholic Message Board

The Priesthood and Latin

goldenchild17

depends on the program of formation, which diocese u enter, what seminary they send you to, or even what order. I haven't taken latin and I am not sure if I will have to.

goldenchild17

Okay so you haven't even taken Latin at all? I just have a hard time learning different languages, I tried Latin for a few years and I'm working on Spanish, but have never made any progress in either area. I just don't want this to prohibit my vocation at all. I don't plan on doing all Latin Masses. But I just didn't know how much one normally needs to know.

Thy Geekdom Come

For the diocese I studied for, you didn't need to know Latin, and that was one of the more conservative dioceses.

homeschoolmom

[quote name='Raphael' date='Oct 30 2004, 08:10 PM'] For the diocese I studied for, you didn't need to know Latin, and that was one of the more conservative dioceses. [/quote]
:(

goldenchild17

Okay thanks ya'll. I would love to learn Latin and be able to do the Latin Mass, but I don't want to be required to know it(otherwise I'd be in a bit of trouble :) )

Thy Geekdom Come

[quote name='goldenchild17' date='Oct 30 2004, 09:45 PM'] Okay thanks ya'll. I would love to learn Latin and be able to do the Latin Mass, but I don't want to be required to know it(otherwise I'd be in a bit of trouble :) ) [/quote]
I can always tutor ya. ;)

homeschoolmom

Please tell me that priests at least know the prayers of the mass in Latin? ... at least some of 'em?? I hate to think that my third grader will know more Latin than our priest...

Thy Geekdom Come

[quote name='homeschoolmom' date='Oct 30 2004, 10:00 PM'] Please tell me that priests at least know the prayers of the mass in Latin? ... at least some of 'em?? I hate to think that my third grader will know more Latin than our priest... [/quote]
As far as I know, no.

goldenchild17