An Old School Catholic Message Board

Born Fundamentalist

john6:63

Hello board,

I am a Baptist, fundamental at that, so yes, I’m a fundamentalist. I have just recently been studying the Catholicism. Honestly, one day I was reading the Gospel of John and came across chapter 6 and this time I just couldn’t hand wave John 6 as being a metaphor. So secretly I started researching the Catholic Church desiring to form my own opinion, other than what David Hunt or Jack Chick had to say about the Church.

I was a member of Baptistboard.com until I was recently banned for defending the Catholic faith. I didn’t think I was doing any good, b/c I am still learning myself, but they banned me anyway. My wife is worried that I have fallen off the deep end and the person who used to be a staunch fundamentalist is now a “Catholic sympathizer.”

I asked her today if she would like to attend a RCIA at a local parish, just to learn more together, but she has yet to give me an answer. She maybe easier to convert since she was raised Methodist and she’s only been a Fundamentalist for the time we’ve been married (7 years), but it is enough to brain wash her.

So I don’t know what to do! My heart and soul desires longs for a more intimate relationship with Christ and I have yet to find it in a Baptist, Non-denominational, Methodist, Free Methodist or Southern Baptist Churches.

Should I wait for my wife to warm up to the idea of considering the Catholic Church or should I attend the RCIA myself? How about my kids, should I take them with me on this journey? I have tried to talk with her about the Catholic beliefs, but we end up arguing.

God bless,
Tommy

toledo_jesus