An Old School Catholic Message Board

Can Anyone help me

missionseeker

missionseeker

I'm a beginner and the book (Wheelocks)doesn't have all the answers to the chapter exercises. So I was wondering if someone could tell me the answers so I know if I got them right. Is there anyone who can?

[quote name='missionseeker' date='Oct 28 2005, 12:16 AM']I'm a beginner and the book (Wheelocks)doesn't have all the answers to the chapter exercises. So I was wondering if someone could tell me the answers so I know if I got them right. Is there anyone who can?
[right][snapback]772614[/snapback][/right]
[/quote]

Ut est impono. Ut est non mediocris ut vestri bulla.

missionseeker

[quote name='Cam42' date='Oct 28 2005, 12:41 AM']Ut est impono.  Ut est non mediocris ut vestri bulla.
[right][snapback]772635[/snapback][/right]
[/quote]
Gee. That's a lot of help. Is that a yes? Impono is not in the dictionary it gives.

unless they're doing the study on their own time...

At first, I thought they were asking for cheats, but then hypothesized that it was something they were doing for their own betterment, rather than for school.

Thy Geekdom Come

Cam, I don't mean to insult you, but that's really, really bad Latin you just used right there.

Ut is a "that" (think: "so that" instead of just "that") in the sense of introducing a clause, not a demonstrative, among other things.

Thy Geekdom Come

[quote]That is cheating. That is not fair for your studies.[/quote]

Illud est fraudare. Illud non iustum est studiis.

Thy Geekdom Come

By the way, I don't think that it's cheating to check your answers after you've written them. That's essentially the same as having a tutor look over your work before class and explaining what's right and wrong.

However, I do not own Wheelock's and do not have the answers.

argent_paladin

Raphael,
Refresh my memory. Isn't an ut...ut... clause usually translated as "If.... then..." that is, as a subjunctive clause?