An Old School Catholic Message Board

Teaching Catechism

dominicansoul

dominicansoul

Dear pham,

I am teaching catechism for the first time in so many years, and I am a little nervous about it! Will you all please pray for me!

I want to share with you a letter I sent out to all the parents. Please pray that our semester will be blessed with abundant fruit! I really care for these kids and want them to establish a deep relationship with Jesus Christ!

They are 4th-graders!

Thanks and God bless you for all your prayerful support.

Here's the letter I will send out to the parents:

[quote]Dear Parent,

I am taking over as teacher for your child’s Religious Instruction. I would like to introduce myself. My name is [spoiler]Patricia Jean-Elizabeth Ferrer[/spoiler]. I was born and raised in [spoiler]San Marcos[/spoiler] TX. I attended Sts. Peter & Paul Catholic School in the late ‘70s. I graduated from [spoiler]San Marcos High[/spoiler] in ’89 and received my Bachelor’s degree from [spoiler]Southwest Texas State University[/spoiler] in ’94.

I entered the convents of the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia in Nashville, TN., (2001) and also the convent of the Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist in Ann Arbor, MI. (2003-2005.) I never took vows, and after discerning, returned home to care for my elderly mother.

I am well-formed in the Dominican Tradition, and this is the spirituality I will be sharing with your child.

I am a devout Catholic, and I feel very strongly about our Church. I want your child to take advantage of the opportunities that will be given in this upcoming semester. I would like for your child to accomplish the following:

1. Learn the basic Catholic prayers

2. Take part in the Sacrament of Reconciliation

3. Attend Mass as a class as well as attend Mass on Holy Days of Obligation with Parents/Guardians