An Old School Catholic Message Board

Teaching A High School Class On Vocations

N/A Gone

(typing on my phone forgive spelling)

dear blessed ones on the discernment path...

i am a high school theology teacher. we are having a class that focuses on vocations and giving the students a push towards prayful discernment. i am a married laity seeking advice on any projects or activities you can recommend to help the class. thank you in advance for any help. i am blessed by the association on this phorum. i pray for all of you discerning Gods will.

jon

I'd say to bring in speakers such from the priesthood and the religious life and also having them read this one booklet called "The Meaning of Vocation" for the teens to reflect upon in a personal private journal, having them write down what quotes stroke their interest. There's also this awesome documentary called "Fishers of Men" about the priesthood.

Maria Faustina

I definetly second "Fishers of Men". My eighth grade religion class was shown that movie and everyone loved it. I like it because it doesn't dumb down the subject of a religious vocation and it shows a real life situation.

The other thing my teacher did was give us a list of really popular links to religious orders and institues and we had to go to the websites and write what the order's apostalate was, their habit, their foundation, their charism, and what their daily life was like. It was really neat and I think it really had an effect on some people.

Also, if you could get a priest and/or a religious sister to speak to your class, that would really help. You could see if they could lead your class on a retreat for a class period, one for the guys, and one for the girls.

Take sometime with the Blessed Sacrament also. We did this as a class and I know everyone in my class came to appreciate those times.