An Old School Catholic Message Board

traditional vs modern communities?

Chiara Joy

Hi all! I am new to Phatmass and have been lurking for a bit. One thing I have noticed come up frequently is the concept of more traditional and more modern religious communities. I do not want to start a debate, but I was wondering what some examples of traditional and modern communities would be? What are some criteria that you would use to categorize communities as traditional or modern? When I hear modern, I think of communities with younger vocations, with a clean online presence/nice website, a certain youthfulness and joy even in the older sisters, etc. but I don't think that that's what many of you think of! For example: Sisters of Life, Salesians, Daughters of St Paul, DSMME, Nashies -- traditional or modern? Some of each? Please help me understand :) I am so excited to actually post here for once - should I make a post introducing myself or just leave it? Can't wait to hear what you all have to say!

Sponsa-Christi

I think sometimes "traditional" is shorthand for: "wearing a habit and living in community," but a lot of "traditional" communities are actually quite modern. For example, the Sisters of Life were founded in the early '90s to meet a distinctively contemporary need (i.e., a loss of the sense of the sacredness of life due to the legalization of abortion.) And actually, even the concept of active Sisters--as opposed to cloistered nuns--is a fairly modern development in the life of the Church. Sisters weren't even formally recognized as "religious" until the early 1900s!

On the other hand, sometimes people assume that consecrated virginity is a purely modern vocation, but this form of life is actually the oldest form of consecrated life in the Church.