An Old School Catholic Message Board

How Often To Contact a Vocation Director?

SupposesRoses

SupposesRoses

Hello all!

I want to start off by saying thank y'all for this amesome community!  I'm relatively new to Phatmass (I made this account last week but I have been lurking for a long time) and already feel so welcome.

How often should a discerner contact a VD of a community to let them know that they are still interested/still discerning?  I have contact with a community that I am hoping to apply to enter in a few years.  The thing is, though, this community's motherhouse is in a place that was hit pretty hard by COVID-19 and I don't want to be bothersome.  I have regularish contact with some of the Sisters who live in a priory of this community (the priory is a short drive from my home and some of the Sisters teach at my high school) and I have been super busy lately with summer assignments, a summer class, and a bunch of other stuff.  I believe the last time that I emailed her was almost 8 months ago, this VD gets a ton of emails and vocation inquiries all the time, so I don't want to be bothersome (especially because I have to wait until after college to [God willing] enter and I already emailed her a few times this past year).

Thank y'all so much for making me feel so welcome here and for reading this post.  Praying for you all!

-SupposesRoses :smile2:

TalithaKoum

I absolutely know what you mean, and am excited to hear other people's responses to your questions as well. I actually took this question to my Spiritual Director. I had really loved a community right away and had reached out to inquire and see if a visit would be possible. But because of classes and now COVID, I have had to reschedule a trip a few times. Every time, I have found myself waiting for her to respond or to reach out to me. I didn't want to come off as too overbearing or pushy! I mean this could be my home and I didn't want that to be their first impression of me!!