An Old School Catholic Message Board

Sola Fide

Didacus

This is a pretty old thread, but I find it contains a lot of information... actually too much information.

I am now thoroughly confused in more ways than I can enumerate, nonetheless I think this thread is worthy of a bump.

I am still struggling with the notion of sola fide. I think what confuese me the most when reading threads like this one is the endless appeal to scriptures and quotes to which I am not entirely familiar and thus have trouble grasping its full worth (sorry, I am a bit of a rookie in all this).

What I understand thus far - this won't take too long and feel free to correct me:

sola fide is the notion that faith alone is required to save one's soul?

Now I understand the scriptures have countless references that can be made towards this, but I would like to take a look at it from a purely logical point of view:

1. I can agree that faith is the first step towards salvation.

How can we love, trust in, follow Jesus Christ unless we know He and believe He is there? Surely one must come to the realization that Jesus is God, is the Savior prior to loving Him fully?

2. I can agree that salvation is IMPOSSIBLE, along with faith itself impossible, unless it is granted by God, jesus Christ Himself.