An Old School Catholic Message Board

Dicernment Woes...

Annie12

I was reflecting on my discernment and I become annoyed. It's not that I don't trust God, but, its that nothing is working out. I have been discerning since I was 16. I'm now almost 21. It seems like in that amount of time, I have made no progress in realizing my vocation. It seems like one minuet I am aspiring to be a sister and the next I'm aspiring to be a mother.  I don't expect discernment to be a piece of cake but I would have at least thought when I was 16 that I would have made some headway by now. Nope. The only answer I can come up with is that I don't have an answer. I am discouraged and annoyed because I don't know what my heart wants. I thought I wanted to be a religious sister until a year ago when I graduated High School. Now, I feel draw to marriage more than I ever have in the past. The strange thing is that this has happened at the most spiritually productive point in my life! I don't understand. I would love to have a family but being a religious sister seems so precious! Another part of me fears that I wouldn't reach sanctity if I was married because of the distractions in the world. I would really appreciate some help here! Thank you!

You obviously have a great understanding and appreciation for the religious life, but perhaps you need to understand the sacrament of marriage more. A religious vocation is a great and precious thing but so is a vocation to marriage. God calls us to the life that will best serve Him and lead us to sanctity - whether than be marriage or a religious vocation. 

Casti Connubii

Arcanum

CCC, section on the Sacrament of Matrimony

OnlySunshine