An Old School Catholic Message Board

What If There Are No Cardinals Of Voting Age When A Pope Dies?

Slappo

Hypothetical:

What happens if a pope lives a very long time (like Bl. John Paul II) and chooses to not name a single cardinal during his papacy. By the time he dies all of the cardinals elect are beyond the voting age or deceased. I guess two scenarios: One is all living cardinals are beyond the voting age, two is that no cardinals are still alive.

How would the Church elect the next pope?

Maybe they'd call all the archbishops. Of course it would be difficult to keep the bureaucracy running without cardinals young enough to do lots of paperwork.

Thy Geekdom Come

As I'm no expert in canon law, this is just a guess, but I think the canon law would be circumvented by the fact that there is no obligation where there is no means of keeping the obligation, i.e., if there are no cardinals, there is no way to have a licit conclave, so the conclave falls by the wayside and the election follows some different, more ancient tradition. There would probably be anti-popes and schisms following, with no clear indication of who was the real pope. As I recall, even some saints were confused during the Great Western Schism. St. Bernard wrote a letter praising the Pisan anti-pope.

Canon Laws concerning the conclaves simply states that the Cardinals are the college of electors. The conclaves themselves are currently regulated by Universi Dominici Gregis, put forward by JPII and modified by BXVI. If a future pontiff decided to move away from naming individuals to the college of Cardinals, odds are he would also modify the regulations for a conclave to ensure a clear method to electing his successor.

If he were not to do that, perhaps we would default on previous tradition and the election would be left to either the bishops or the clergy of Rome.

Basilisa Marie