An Old School Catholic Message Board

Dominican Habit

awyers

Ok I am kinda new to the world of habits, we dont see them here in Canada, and I was wondering...

Why does the Dominican habit have that little white cape thing, sorry I dont know what it is called, and do any others wear it or is that specific to the Dominicans?

And why is the Dominican habit white? Does it have special meaning like the brown of Franciscans?

Thanks! :)

Edited by Piobaire

we Mercedarians also wear a white habit. Ours was given to us by the Blessed Mother to St. Peter Nolasco in honor of Her Immaculate Conception...

Sr Mary Catharine OP

[quote name='Piobaire' post='1100759' date='Oct 25 2006, 11:10 AM']
Ok I am kinda new to the world of habits, we dont see them here in Canada, and I was wondering...

Why does the Dominican habit have that little white cape thing, sorry I dont know what it is called, and do any others wear it or is that specific to the Dominicans?

And why is the Dominican habit white? Does it have special meaning like the brown of Franciscans?

Thanks! :)
[/quote]

The friars and many of the Sisters have the capuce. The nuns NEVER HAD IT!
Originally, the scapular and the hood were one piece but the friars got vain and continued to lengthen th hood until they had the capuce. The story goes that St. Dominic was NOT pleased with this show of vainty. However, everyone does agree that it looks very striking! This is why the nuns never had it. If you see pictures of the active order sisters when they first came to this country and were still nuns you will see that they had a small wimple around their necks. The large wimple that is part of the traditional "coif" of the Dominican Nuns is from the monasteries that came from France and is actually quite "modern" and comes from after the French Revolution.