An Old School Catholic Message Board

I'm So Frustrated....

trustandgratitude

trustandgratitude

I have been discering a religious vocatio for a few years and over that time I have become more and more convinced that my call is to give myself completely to Jesus in the contemplative life. Last year I was diagnosed or rather rediagnosed with epilepsy that is now under control with medication. My siezures are "partial" and "complex partial" meaning the are minor brief staring spells. When I mention epilepsy to any community I emmediately get a door slammed in my face, gently but slammed. I have prayed that God would remove this desire from my heart but it still remains. Can anyone suggest any thing to do or say when approaching communitys? This seems like such a minor thing to me and to most everyone I know. Does anyone know of any order off hand that might be open to this "cross" that I have been given? I have learned alot over this past year and one thing that I can and will be working on for the reat of my life is surrender.

Please forgive me if I'm mistaken, but you are a woman, are you not?

Have you thought about looking into Visitation orders? Generally, most of the Visitation orders are more accepting of physical orders, as long as you are mentally healthy. There are no rigorous penances, and it's a contemplative vocation. If you are interested, I can post some links to some websites of orders in the United States.