An Old School Catholic Message Board

Suddenly

LaPetiteSoeur

LaPetiteSoeur

Because of decree of my parents, I have to get a university degree before I enter the convent. Four years seems ridiculously far away. What are some ways I can wait patiently and still help my spiritual life?

Thank you for your help!
Dieu vous benisse!

I am in my second year of college [but I shifted to another course so I am a freshman for two years] and I can understand how you feel... Five years, in my case, is just SOOOO long. When I took my entrance exam at the university I did my best and then I prayerd that I would fail the exam so that I will have a reason to pursue religious life. God didn't answer my prayers.

Now more than a year after, there's a GREAT possibility that I won't be finishing my degree. I somehow feel disappointed about this, I just want to finish what I have started. But isn't it I should be happy since I could enter religious life with more freedom! But everything's becoming so complex!! This is another story and would be off-topic, but please pray for me.

Waiting is not doing nothing. It's part of the discernment process. Waiting is growing up. Keep this always in your mind. Why not try "hanging out" with the sisters you're discerning with once in a while? Or joining prayer groups for the meantime. What college will you be going? Perhaps if you could find fellow phatmassers there, you could gather and pray, and share!

Hinter dem Horizont

Honestly, having the degree beforehand could be beneficial because then you'd have something in case the religious life does not work out for you. Or, it will at least make you into an intellectual. Convents always want people that have degrees because they're educated and will add to lives of those inside the convent.

First of all, pray diligently. Pray the hours.