An Old School Catholic Message Board

" Catholicism Is Nothing New "

ExCorde

With this topic I'm attempting to be serious about certain claims (which could be called prejudices) I've heard concerning the veracity of the Catholic Church as it stands against paganism. That is to say, the reasons people raise when they argue that 1) Catholicism brought nothing new as pertains to doctrine and 2) the way the Church imposed itself on others.

This sort of criticism is probably not the most common today. Nowadays there's a lot of talk about the atheist claims: those that oppose science and political "freedoms" to faith. (However, as I'm new to the Phorum, I'm not sure of the specific topics where atheism and science have already been discussed.)

But in this topic, I'd like to address issues that seem glaring not so much to the science-worshippers as to the nature-worshippers, such as the extinction of something ancient and "real" that they admire (which includes, in a broad sense, pagan religions).

As far as I understand it, there's a concern about a holistic understanding of the universe and our place in it. Interestingly enough, this also relates to science because of how receptive they are (in my experience) to various perspectives on topics, even mildly religious in nature, as long as they're not close to reminding them of anything christian.

I'm talking about the kind of "indisputable" argument (there's no question about it in their minds) that claims the Church to be a motley collection of doctrines, copying its teachings from Egypt, tales of virgin births and resurrections from several cultures, replacing pagan festivities for their own holidays, etc.