An Old School Catholic Message Board

Where The Hell On God's Beautiful Big Green And Blue Planet Do I B

Ice_nine

In short: I'm a college student (a sophomore) attending university planning to either be a psychology major/anthropology double major or minor. People have always told me I'm intelligent and I have a gift. I'm not 100% sure if those people were smoking the reefer at the time they told me this, but I'd like to think I have some talents somewhere. I never felt that married life would be for me, I mean sometimes I think about it and it melts my heart, you know having a lover to give oneself too and being able to nurture little humans and all, and up until a few years ago figured I'd be a single working woman all my life son.

I've always have had interest in being a missionary and traveling to these remote and obscure places and after returning to the Catholic faith I have seriously considered entering a religious order. In the silence of solitude I feel that this may be the best way for me to offer myself in service to God and man. That may contain traveling to foreign lands, and it may not, the point is [i]I have absolutely no idea where to begin[/i].

It's almost embarrassing. Everyone here seems to have all this intuitive or ingrained understanding of how all this stuff works but I have no freaking idea where to even start. I'm intimidated by the wealth of knowledge on here (I am a bad Catholic :() and I just need a snippet of guidance to point me in the right direction before I go running off to a priest or spiritual director (how do you get one of them anyhow?) sounding like the biggest moron that ever did walk into the chapel.