An Old School Catholic Message Board

Profanity

Kia ora

Somtimes I check out Christian reviews of movies, although I am not a Christian. Most of them come from a Protestant perspective. They list the perceived harmful sides of the movie, like sex scenes and violence. But also profanity. This always leaves me scratching my head. I can understand why blasphemous curse words would be considered bad. But profanity covers a wide range of topics, from bodily excretion to parts of our body.

What's so bad about them? Of course this isn't limited to Christian movie reviewers, it's something that society in general seems to share. I'm a linguistics student. I love languages. I know that it's natural, or very common, for societies to segregate some words as forbidden. But there's no real, [i]objective[/i] reason why sh*t is more offensive than faeces. I really think that people in general need to chill out. If I like to use the f-word more than other people, it doesn't make me a bad person.

For me, the problem with profanity isn't even necessarily the actual words themselves (they're just an assemblage of consonants and vowels), but the intent and meaning by you're using. The more angry, or more vulgar your intent, the worse the language is. Language bad enough and you actually can even start to hurt another emotionally.

I have no problem with words. I have a problem with the meaning of the language.

There's a time and a place for angry thoughts and words, and I think there's even a time for hurting people emotionally. Obviously that's why the words were created in the first place, because people needed to shock, offend, create strong emotions etc.

[quote name='Kia ora' timestamp='1324374535' post='2354339']
There's a time and a place for angry thoughts and words, and I think there's even a time for hurting people emotionally. Obviously that's why the words were created in the first place, because people needed to shock, offend, create strong emotions etc.
[/quote]