An Old School Catholic Message Board

I Feel Like A Failure!

Annie12

I have been discerning for 3 years now but I have become really confused latley and need some prayers. I'm pretty depressed about my vocation right now. I don't even know if I'm really called anymore. Prayers please.

OnlySunshine

Hun, you are ANYTHING but a failure. I went through periods such as these in my discernment where I was really confused. For me, it meant just taking a break and maturing in my prayer life. Inevitably, after a period of non-discernment, the desire for religious life would return.

Take some time "off" and focus your attention totally on God. Forget looking up orders right now. Sometimes our focus becomes so clouded by exteriors that the voice of God becomes drowned out. Do some spiritual reading like "I Believe in Love" or "Abandonment to Divine Providence." Let God take care of the rest. Prayers!

That's a good idea. I think part of the problem is that I don't feel like I have support from someone who understands. (You all on VS are great Though!) I don't have a spiritual director so its tough because. I tend to keep it all bottled up inside instead of chatting about it.

[quote name='Annie12' timestamp='1342560390' post='2456505']
I have been discerning for 3 years now but I have become really confused latley and need some prayers. I'm pretty depressed about my vocation right now. I don't even know if I'm really called anymore. Prayers please.
[/quote]

You are no failure-you are normal. If you had not had serious doubts this far into your discernment, anyone wise would have told you to watch out, because they're coming! :P

In all seriousness, everyone has doubts. I just finished my application to a community, and I too began to have serious doubts. It happens to people no matter how devout or sure of their vocation they are.