An Old School Catholic Message Board

Meeting With Spiritual Director For The First Time... !yay!

Kylie Spinelli

Kylie Spinelli

Hi everyone! So, Praise be to God! I have been praying that I would come across someone who would be able to help me in my discernment, such as a spiritual director, and one of my nun-friends (gotta love 'em!!) got me in touch with a priest who does spiritual direction! YAAY! Thank You, God, for answering my prayers, once again!! :woot:

So after having a near - heart attack before calling and scheduling my first appointment, and getting through talking with him without passing out, my next obstacle is learning what comes next - what happens at the meeting, how long they are, etc. I'm totally new to this, I have never met with a spiritual director before, and not a lot of people (that I see in real life, I must add that disclaimer!) know about my discernment. And the ones that do, know very little about it. I'm wondering what this meeting will be like, what questions I should ask, what questions he will ask, etc. Is there anything I need to bring or do? Oh my gosh, I am so nervous, and excited, and scared! Haha

How do I control my nerves? Oh my gosh I'm going to be shaking Haha! Don't get me wrong, I am so glad and thankful for this opportunity, but this is just such a big deal, and I'm TOTALLY new to this!!

Any help/guidance/experience/advice is GREATLY appreciated!!

Thank you and GOD BLESS :nun3:

PhuturePriest

Meeting with my spiritual director has never been a mistake. I have learned so much about discernment and about myself, and plus, I made a new friend. Nothing beats that.