An Old School Catholic Message Board

Calling All Med Students Or Doctors

the171

Do you know of any autoimmune disorders that could cause mainly hyperventilation, fatigue, and constant dizziness? I've been looking but can't find anything.

Fidei Defensor

I'm not a doctor so do not take my comments as medical advice.

That being said, there aren't many autoimmune disorders that would manifest solely as those symptoms. Is there any reason why you suspect autoimmune?

Edited by tardis ad astra

I'm not a doctor either but that sounds like an anxiety disorder or acute stress reaction. Maybe CFS, especially if all your tests are clear - but that usually affects menopausal women, not teenagers.

My ANA was positive. ANA=test for autoimmune diseases. Those aren't the only symptoms. Those are just the only symptoms we're sure of. Others might be weight gain, tingly sensations, aaaannd that's all I can recall currently.

fatigue and dizziness reminds me of fibromyalgia. but unless you are experiencing pain it is probably not that.

That's why I thought CFS, because she didn't mention pressure points... 171 does the fatigue get better when you rest?

Also, I've been noticing extra pain around the scapula and neck region. No, the fatigue is constant. Headaches every day. Not too too bad, but annoying.

We checked for a vitamin deficiency. We've done lots of tests.

Fidei Defensor

My ANA was positive. ANA=test for autoimmune diseases. Those aren't the only symptoms. Those are just the only symptoms we're sure of. Others might be weight gain, tingly sensations, aaaannd that's all I can recall currently.

The only disease that comes to mind that covers that many different symptoms would be lupus. It can manifest in many different and sometimes conflicting ways  :hmmm:

well ... fibro causes headaches and tingling. But pain is the major one. most likely would be your #1 complaint if it was fibro.