An Old School Catholic Message Board

Success In The World

Gabriela

I'm not sure if this is the right phorum to post this in, but it's something I've been thinking about for a while. How is it possible these days to succeed in the world while retaining Christian modesty? Pretty much every career you could possibly have is going to require you to "promote yourself", "advocate for yourself", "stand up for yourself", etc. Isn't this antithetical to true humility?

Edited by curiousing

Having marketable skills and being honest about them is not prideful. :)

It would in fact be pride to say "Oh, I am not very good at _insert thing I am actually good at here_" because you're diminishing the dignity and skills God gave to you.

Self promotion can end in pride, but it's not in itself sinful.

Spem in alium

It would in fact be pride to say "Oh, I am not very good at _insert thing I am actually good at here_" because you're diminishing the dignity and skills God gave to you.

Exactly. Doing that kind of thing is just a way of asking outright for praise and for compliment, which is not humble. I think true humility involves accepting your strengths along with your weaknesses. You can still advocate your true talents and be humble.

Exactly. Doing that kind of thing is just a way of asking outright for praise and for compliment, which is not humble. I think true humility involves accepting your strengths along with your weaknesses. You can still advocate your true talents and be humble.

Well, I understand that some people call that "fishing for compliments" and I would say it fits the more well-known paradigm of pride.

However, many people genuinely mean that, and turn away all compliments on principle. This is also pride. Humility walks the middle road, accepting nothing more than or less than the truth.

Noel's angel