An Old School Catholic Message Board

What Should I Do?

Mary's Child

Mary's Child

Ok I need some advice. I have never had a spiritual director and many people have told me this is essential. I have been resisting for a couple of years and only recently have found a priest I want to ask. So a few weeks ago I decided that I would ask him the next time I see him well he leaves right after mass but theres confession before hand. I am not sure if he would know who I am if I left a voicemail since he is pretty new at the parish and only knows my first name. Anyway I am getting off track on my question: I have been trying for the last few weeks to get to talk to him in confession he has only said 2 masses I was at and both times I tried to get into confession the first time I was next in line when he stopped hearing confessions, then today I got there extra early to make sure that wouldnt happen and he had been called to the hospital so he didnt hear any confessions.

What I am wondering is does this mean that he isnt the right person for spiritual direction should I keep looking elsewhere or what?

OnlySunshine

Not necessarily.  Priests are extraordinarily busy and are often not available because of schedule constraints.  I've been trying to meet with my pastor for the past few weeks but we had the annual bazaar and the first Sacraments Masses the last few weekends so I am trying to be patient.  Maybe what you should do is call the parish office and ask the office administrator when the priest will be free and if you can schedule an appointment.  :)

SuscipeMeDomine

I would suggest you call the parish office and make an appointment to meet with him "about a personal matter."  This is a more professional way of approaching things.  Confession isn't the right place and frankly, neither is just catching him after Mass sometime.  Meet with him, explain what you are looking for, and give him a chance to ask questions or clarify anything that may need clarification.