An Old School Catholic Message Board

My Vocation Visit

beatitude

As I've said in other threads, I've been corresponding with a secular institute since 2012 but I haven't had chance to meet anyone from it yet as all the members in my home country have died. My in-person introduction to the spirituality of their institute has been through residential stays with religious sisters who are part of the same 'family', and while this has been very valuable it's not quite the same thing as meeting SI members in person. In a few days I will be going to France to do just that. Please pray for me and for them, that it will be a fruitful visit. I will post an update on how it goes.

i am about to pray compline and will include huge big juicy prayers for your discernment, with thanksgiving for the wisdom you bring to these boards. God bless.

TheresaThoma

Beatitude that sounds lovely! I will be praying for you. Enjoy France it is such a beautiful country!

brandelynmarie

Prayers & I'm so very happy for you! Please kiss the ground for me...I loved visiting France. :french:

this is amesome. in my country, about 10 year ago i used to want to be in a SI, but most were small and full of very elderly folk. so i didnt.

i have heard good things about Foclorae - in the USA some CVs are sent to them for formation. some people really like Opus Dei also (not for me).

and i also know a very edifying SI, 'The Works' . they wear a special garment on certain special occassions in the church (not outside).

here is a very lovely picture of it the+work+6.jpg
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_wcRtmezeJII/SogMJ9pJeyI/AAAAAAAAARg/oamx0oLOFDE/s1600-h/the+work+6.jpg

profession of vows: http://www.daswerk-fso.org/deutsch/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/ch-feier5.jpg

I am interested to know how you discerned this, it seems a very rare vocation nowadays.

Blessings for your visit

Edited by oremus1

maximillion