An Old School Catholic Message Board

What Is It Like To Live The Vow Of Obedience?

chrysostom

What is it like to live the vow of obedience?

I'm asking this specifically of Catholic religious but obviously anyone is free to reply.  I'm especially interested in the perspectives of those with longer experience in a religious community who are well past final profession of vows. I asked this of an elderly monk and I remember getting an edifying response but I can't remember what he said anymore. :paperbag:

But yes, any input would be appreciated.  Also any book recommendations.  :pope2:

Thanks! (:

truthfinder

I have no experience in this matter, but I will say that various communities understand obedience in different ways (particularly between active and contemplative communities). The others will chime in on details.

Catherine Therese

I'm younger than your target interview set, and didn't end up making vows, so was only every "informally" living obedience.

I'd love to share a few comments on what I grew to learn through living obedience in spirit, if not yet in vow (because it was life-changing) but I'll wait until you've heard the insights and experiences from people who have lived obedience under vows that you are seeking.

SophiaMaria

Blessed columba Marmion wrote some beautiful things on the vow of obedience. His works and letters are worth reading

maximillion

From an ex-nun who was 14 years in the cloister........

Freeing.

When the externals of life are no longer of any particular concern ( I mean like having to earn your living, decide what to wear, decide what to eat and shop and prepare it, decide what to spend money on etc etc etc), when one's life is almost micromanaged by the rhythm of the liturgy and the rule, then there is lots of time and headspace.