An Old School Catholic Message Board

There's no place like home...reflections after a visit

sr.christinaosf

sr.christinaosf

Reprinted from Our Franciscan Fiat
I just got back from spending some days back in West St. Paul, Minnesota. I had been asked to speak at a few gatherings (church youth group, my former professor's writing class, and a benefit dinner for the youth group). I'm not very experienced in public speaking, except for a small weekly Bible study for our residents and a college class in the discipline over ten years ago, but I thought I'd better do it when asked. While I was there, I also got the chance to go swimming, something I haven't done in quite a long time. We used to go to the city pool very often in the summer when I was growing up, and I love the water! I had fairly long hair as a girl, and the chlorine took its toll on my prized position at the time (that is, my hair). My mom had to trim the split ends and cut more than I wanted. Little did I know at the time that one day my hair would be very short! Last Thursday, with my short hair, after the fun-filled swim, I didn't need much shampoo (a short hair cut does have its perks.)