An Old School Catholic Message Board

Putting much aside to follow a better way: a new plan

bardegaulois

bardegaulois

Ladies and gentlemen:

A protracted period of consideration on what my next step through life ought to be has led me to a conclusion that many might see as somewhat unusual. I'm a tutor and most of my clients are friends of mine who have asked me to instruct their homeschooled children. We've gotten to the point that I never even ask them for my regular rate any longer, and a sort of tacit agreement has emerged among us that all my extraordinary expenses can be covered upon the asking, the wages from my day job going towards my regular daily expenses. In the time, however, that these people have retained me, my functioned among them has grown merely from teaching the young into helping them with their strategic planning, into pastoral counselling, and the like. I've become somehow particularly trusted in religious matters, for the unusual situation that my friends, though not yet formally Catholic, are strongly Traditional Latin Mass-preferent (as am I), and the diocese in which we reside is a dead zone, all the nearby pastors being quite hostile to anything resembling Catholic tradition. I know this is sad, but we skirt this by travelling into another diocese weekly. Needless to say, this situation is making it very difficult for them to enter the Church fully, but this is an issue I'm working on with a small group of like-minded Catholics.