An Old School Catholic Message Board

Split-heart vocation

28yrolddiscerner

28yrolddiscerner

Hello all,

I'm coming here hoping for some advice.

I'm 28 & discerning with an order that accepts older people. They are cloistered and contemplative. I'm getting some signs from God that I do have a religious vocation too & I'm getting excited about my future!

The problem is I am currently a first yr graduate student living with my brother who is also a grad student. He is very shy and depressed & has a lot of trouble making friends.  he says he cannot complete his degree without me...he is basically lost without me...but I want to leave school and follow my calling?!!? What would you do if you were in my shoes? WWJD?

Also, how do I go about looking for a spiritual director on campus? I don't know anyone really.

Thankkk youuu for your advice!

28yrolddiscerner

As far as a spiritual director goes, does your campus have a Catholic ministry of some sort? A Newman Center, or something like that? Even if there isn't one, there's probably a parish that serves the college community. The priests there will be familiar with academia. And they may have non-ordained ministers, too - women religious who do spiritual direction or counseling or other sorts of ministries.

As to the larger question, it sounds to me like your brother needs to start a program designed to build his independence. Suppose you stay in grad school until he completes his degree (and you, yours). And then you're ready to enter the convent. What will happen to him then? If he's still dependent on you, you won't be able to enter then, either.