An Old School Catholic Message Board

Question about consecrated virgins

Dymphna

This is just out of interest: I know two of consecrated virgins who call themselves "Sister" (followed by their first name). They also both wear a (different) dress which looks like a habit.

But I keep on reading that a consecrated virgin is NOT called a "sister", because her vocation is different from a member of a religious order. And my instinct is, to be a sister you need to have siblings, you need to have women who are your sisters. It's not a title indicating that someone is living a strongly religious life, but that she's a member of a religious community. My instinct concerning the "habit" is similar.

Is this just a local thing here (somewhere in Europe), or is it common in other countries, eg. the US, as well? And if so, I'm curious about the reasoning behind it!

SicutColumba

I am no expert, I think @Sponsa-Christi might be able to clarify things but I’m pretty sure that to wear a habit and be called sister you need to be a part of a community and have taken vows (or be a novice in that community). Maybe these women have received special permission from their bishop to dress like sisters. 

Sponsa-Christi

Ok, so here's my thought on this: the Church doesn't generally envision special dress resembling a habit as the normal custom for CVs, but I think ultimately the Church leaves it up to the discretion of the local diocesan bishop. 

The relevant citation for this is from the 2018 Instruction Ecclesiae Sponsae Imago, in paragraph 38: 

Desirous of irradiating the dignity and beauty of their vocation with a relational style towards the people of their own time, their way of dressing follows the local customs, combining dignity and the expression of their own personality with the virtue of moderation, in accordance with the requirements of their social situation.