An Old School Catholic Message Board

Just started discerning

futuresister

futuresister

Hi!

So, I have just started discerning and I am completely TERRIFIED. I don't know where to start. Since I am majoring in education and I like their charism, I am thinking about contacting the Nashville Dominicans. Has anyone discerned with them?

Don't be completely terrified! It could be a great adventure! Actually, it will be a great adventure with Christ no matter where you end up, especially if you keep faithful to prayer and the advice given to you by trusted vocations directors!

Do you have a spiritual director? Think it was discussed in a different thread so I won't keep talking about it but it's super helpful.

I know some Nashville OP Sisters and have a great friend who's an Ann Arbor Mary Mother of the Eucharist Sister in First vows (again the differences between these two convents have been talked about heaps in other threads and you might not have any interest in the DSMMEs!) 

Prayers for you! 

I think I'd start by thinking do I feel drawn to contemplative/enclosed or active.   In the past folk had to send off for information but now a lot of it is online. So you can read the various websites. Then maybe think about a spiritual director. Either a priest or a sister. 

Edited by GraceUk

Also, many communities, including the Nashville OPs, have vocation stories on their website. Have you read those stories? Do they resonate with you? If so, this may (emphasis on *may*) be a good fit. But don't just look at a single community at this early stage. If you are drawn to teaching, there are literally dozens, even hundreds of communities which focus somewhat or mainly on education. Are you attracted to this particular expression of the Dominican charism? That is actually the most important thing.

Sponsa-Christi