An Old School Catholic Message Board

Help please!

SorrowfulHeart

SorrowfulHeart

Hello all!

This is my first time posting on Vocation Station(and Phatmass) so forgive me if this is a little wonky.

I've been discerning a vocation to the religious life for about 4 years. I am still in high school, so it has been a little difficult. 

I have felt a calling to Carmel, more specifically the Ancient Observance Branch. I was actually rejected from a Teresian Monastery. They did not feel that I had a vocation to their Carmel because of my former struggles with anxiety. 

I have tried to also discern the active religious life. Unfortunately, I have not felt called to the active life.

My parents do not understand that I do not feel called to active life. I have tried to help them understand, but they have shut me out.  They feel that I am just shutting myself in one place, and that I will wake up ten years down the line and realize I am not happy in the cloister. 

If you have any advice or books that would help ease me or my parent's strife, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you again!

Unfortunately, there may be nothing that you can do that can help them. Most of the time parents come around when they experience their daughter's happiness in the cloister. Sometimes, it just helps to meet the community. Parents can sometimes be helpful in guiding their children but not always. You must know your own heart and honestly assess your own capabilities.