An Old School Catholic Message Board

contraception

myduwigd

What do you think about contraception and why?  

91 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Contraception is such a heated topic. Ive talked it over with my Protestant friends and some Catholics and could never really agree on anything. Scott Hahn said in his book "Rome Sweet Home" that he wouldnt use it because it defied God by taking the matter into one's own hands.

both 1 and 3 are okay, but Natural Family Planning by definition is NOT contraception. contraception is anything that prevents conception within the sexual act. NFP is just a married couple planning out when to have sex (well, that's very simplified. i'm no expert. lol). Anyway, basially, NFP is not contracpetion. NFP if done with malicious intent could create a contraceptive marriage (whcih would be wrong) but other than that it is not contraceptive.

[quote name='Aloysius' date='Mar 21 2005, 03:11 PM'] both 1 and 3 are okay, but Natural Family Planning by definition is NOT contraception. contraception is anything that prevents conception within the sexual act. NFP is just a married couple planning out when to have sex (well, that's very simplified. i'm no expert. lol). Anyway, basially, NFP is not contracpetion. NFP if done with malicious intent could create a contraceptive marriage (whcih would be wrong) but other than that it is not contraceptive. [/quote]
I agree, both 1 and 3; and yes, NFP properly used is not a form of contraception.

[quote name='Apotheoun' date='Mar 21 2005, 06:00 PM'] I agree, both 1 and 3; and yes, NFP properly used is not a form of contraception. [/quote]
How would you use NFP to a degree when it becomes contraceptive marriage? Would you have to be open to kids if you do it?