An Old School Catholic Message Board

17 year old nun

MC IMaGiNaZUN

MC IMaGiNaZUN

[url="http://www.southbendtribune.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20051211/Lives02/512110535/0/ourLives"]http://www.southbendtribune.com/apps/pbcs....0535/0/ourLives[/url]

South Bend Tribune

December 11. 2005 6:59AM

'I know I have made the right choice'

Sister Clare Marie Klein, 22, became a nun at the age of 17, and this is her first year as a teacher at Holy Family Catholic School in South Bend. She recently spoke with Tribune staff writer May Lee Johnson.

[b]Can you tell me something about who you are? [/b]I grew up in Mendon, Michigan, on a farm. I have nine brothers and sisters, and I was home-schooled. I graduated from high school early and entered Madonna University (in Livonia, Mich.).

[b]When did you realize you wanted to be a nun? [/b]I fell in love with Jesus. When this happened, everything changed, and I wanted my whole life to be about Jesus. I am not saying that at that moment I became perfect! It's just that at a certain point, I realized that nothing matters without Him. ... There is no meaning, no purpose in life without God. ...

I discovered that Jesus was calling me to offer my life in a way that many people (including myself, at the time) do not understand.

[b]What attracted you to the Felician Franciscan Sisters? [/b]I saw their love for Jesus in the Eucharist, their dedication to service of the church, their devotion to the Blessed Mother, the centrality of Scripture, and the fact that the religious habit is still a reality in the community. As a young person of the current generation, signs and symbols are a necessity to me. I need to know and see the difference between one lifestyle and another, and I understand the importance of a visible witness.