An Old School Catholic Message Board

Community of Our Lady at Walsingham

puellapaschalis

puellapaschalis

Hello All,

there's a new community that's been recently established in the UK - the Community of Our Lady at Walsingham. Their webpages are [url="http://www.vocationsgroup.org.uk/colw/"]here[/url] if you'd like to take a look. Their spirituality is Carmelite, but that's about all I know of their life.

The two members who have made their First Profession I know vaguely - they ran the Vocations Group for Women which used to exist (it's still there, but in a modified form) at Westminster Cathedral in London. I used to go to meetings there when I was an undergraduate. Quite unexpectedly I bumped into them again on the Marienfeld last August. They are both lovely ladies and really devoted to God and the Church.

Walsingham is England's national shrine to Our Lady ([url="http://www.walsingham.org.uk/romancatholic/"]link[/url]) and has been for aaaaages - since well before the Reformation in fact, which means that there are now two shrines there, one Catholic and one Anglican. For a long time the country has been referred to as "Mary's Dowry" and as part of this the Hail Mary is prayed at each Mass with the Prayers of the Faithful. It can be a bit of a shock if you've grown up with that and then move to another country where the Hail Mary is nowhere to be seen at Mass ;)

Anyway - a heads up about this community for those who might be interested.

Blessed Holy Week to everyone.

Love and prayers,

PP

This is cool. Our local Anglican Use parish is called Our Lady of Walsingham. They are very orthodox. The pastor is married and has children. I have a hard time getting used to that. :)

puellapaschalis

[quote name='OLAM Dad' date='Apr 10 2006, 02:54 PM']This is cool.  Our local Anglican Use parish is called Our Lady of Walsingham.  They are very orthodox.  The pastor is married and has children.  I have a hard time getting used to that.  :)