An Old School Catholic Message Board

When You Have A Strong Vocation...

tonyofpadua

Hi everyone. I don't post here often but I read a ton. I have a question for some of you fellow discerners, and others.

I'm a freshman at a secular university and since September I've been feeling a very strong tug to seriously discern a religious vocation. More specifically, to enter St. John Vianney seminary at the University of St. Thomas next fall.

For the past 5 months I've been praying (though not as much as I should have), been staying in constant conversation with my vocations director, sharing my thoughts with close friends and family, and preparing to apply for the fall.

A few days ago, I got the opportunity to be at a seminarian mass and dinner with 65 seminarians from SJV, and met quite a few of them. All of the seminarians from my diocese were there (one of them is even one of my best friends). I even had a short conversation with the rector at the seminary.

Before this event, I was incredibly excited about being a seminarian and entering in the fall. I'm not enjoying my freshman year here, and thought SJV was the place for me. However, after the event, and talking to many seminarians (not about anything in particular, just getting to know them a bit), I feel different.

I feel like my vocation is completely gone, and I no longer have any interest in the seminary. None.

Is this normal? Has this ever happened? Not only have I lost the sense of a vocation, but I've lost the want to be a solid Catholic, and almost want to emerse myself back in secular society entirely.

It just seems like 5 months ago God led my on a trail, and I was following footprints, and all of the sudden, they stopped with no warning, in the middle of nowhere. I don't know what to do anymore.

I'm visiting SJV next month, and will get to know the rector and many of the seminarians on a deeper level, and that should hopfully give me a clearer picture of things and maybe reignite my interest.