An Old School Catholic Message Board

Why Do It In Latin?

Monica4U

I've been wondering lately what the arguments are for having the traditional Latin Mass versus the, uhh..., normal mass (I actually don't know what they're all called).

I'm new to being Catholic, and while I love doing things the traditional way, I'm unfamiliar about the whole debate about Latin or no Latin. It seems like something that people seem to disagree about, and therefore worthy of the debate table.

What are the arguments for having the Latin Mass? What are the arguments against it? Should I go to a Latin mass if I don't understand Latin?

Laudate_Dominum

I am personally a strong advocate of the traditional Latin Mass but I must avoid addressing the more controversial questions you've presented for now. :)

[quote name='Monica4U' post='1418580' date='Nov 13 2007, 02:04 AM']I've been wondering lately what the arguments are for having the traditional Latin Mass versus the, uhh..., normal mass (I actually don't know what they're all called).[/quote]
Since Pope Benedict's motu proprio concerning the use of the traditional Mass the proper terms would be the ordinary form of the Roman rite (meaning the Mass as it was revised after the Second Vatican Council) and the extraordinary form of the Roman rite (meaning the pre-conciliar Mass as celebrated according to the Missal of 1962).

[quote name='Monica4U' post='1418580' date='Nov 13 2007, 02:04 AM']I'm new to being Catholic, and while I love doing things the traditional way, I'm unfamiliar about the whole debate about Latin or no Latin. It seems like something that people seem to disagree about, and therefore worthy of the debate table.[/quote]
It is certainly true that this is something that people disagree about but Pope Benedict has made it quite clear that both Masses are valid and important for the life of the Church. Arguments and such aside I think that faithful Catholics in general will agree with this.