An Old School Catholic Message Board

Orders Open To Those With Mental/emotional Weakness?

Sarah147

Hello everyone. [img]http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/public/style_emoticons/default/D.gif[/img]

I was wondering if people here could share with me orders for women that are accepting of people with mental/emotional weakness (in particular, that have had a few temporary bouts of mental/emotional weakness in the past due to major stress)? I know most say they want strong mental health. Someone told me that smaller communities would probably be more apt to take a chance on me than a bigger order that can afford to be picky. And I would say that right now that I am healthy and normal, I've just had two difficulties in the past. Of course there is always the chance it could happen again, but I am in councelling about it. I'm just not so sure what orders would be merciful towards me about this. I have been discerning the religious life for a few years now and I feel called to the life. Right now I'm trying to grow spiritually and focus on silence and prayer. I'm still discerning what kind of order and so forth. I was given good advice from a priest recently that timing is very important. After visiting a lot of convents (I haven't told any about my issue but one but it wasn't the right order for me), and lots of prayer, thinking and living, I don't feel grown enough yet to leave my loved ones and make that serious commitment, nor councelled enough to handle future stressors. It is like a marriage, so I see it very seriously, I mean even at aspirancy. I feel like once I leave this life and enter somewhere, it feels for sure and no leaving.

Please let me know what you know. I really appreciate your help, whatever you know.

God bless you.

I just want to add that it wasn't just major stress, but seems to be a bad environment growing up that didn't teach good coping skills. So councelling and having good friendships has been helping.