An Old School Catholic Message Board

Thanks!

Lisa

Hi! I'm new on here but have been lurking for awhile. I just wanted to thank you all for posting about your vocation discernment stories- I'm beginning to discern and you have been super inspiring! :clapping: Any advice to a newbie discerner?

Hinter dem Horizont

Hey there. I've been discerning for 2 years so far. My recommendation is that you pray the liturgy of the hours, either by buying a breviary or find an online version. Get a spiritual director that will meet with you monthly at the minimum. You can find them at the vocation office of your diocese or through pastoral care. Mine was through pastoral care. Pray diligently. Ask God directly what He wants for you. He'll lead you to the right path, do not worry. His answers might not come immediately but they will certainly come. Look at several orders. Don't focus on one. Sometimes the one you're focusing on is what YOU want rather than what God wants. Eventually you should start visiting orders.

That's all for now [img]http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/public/style_emoticons/default/priest.gif[/img]

Edited by Hinter dem Horizont

Welcome Lisa :)

This may sound a bit repetitive but it is in fact true and proven. The advice I would give to you is to pray and to listen; this proved to be very helpful to me in my discernment and is a continued help for me.