An Old School Catholic Message Board

Communicating With Religious Communities

AccountDeleted

AccountDeleted

While posting on another thread about how quickly and how well Colwich responded to my emails and questions I posted on their blog, I was wondering what others felt about how various religious communities communicate? And perhaps we could share advice with each other about the best way to contact some of them.

I have been writing to communities for over four years now and have found it interesting that although some communities have email addresses or website with contact pages, they don't all respond either promptly or courteously, and some of them never respond at all!

I have often wondered if 1) they never got my email or 2) they didn't feel I was a good candidate for them so they just didn't bother to respond or 3) perhaps they don't have anyone who checks their email or 4) what do you think???

I know that of those who have responded late (say more than a month turnaround), they have explained that they were busy with this or that, or had too many emails to answer etc. and having lived according to a horarium, I know that every minute of the day is accounted for.... but this makes me ask more questions like..

If they don't have time for email, why post it in the first place? If they have too many emails, should they at least send a group response to all vocation enquiries saying something like "got your email, will answer when possible" etc.

My first reaction is not to want to be critical of course, but I have known many very busy people in the world as well, and they somehow manage to find time to at least acknowledge correspondence...