An Old School Catholic Message Board

Let's Begin At The Very Beginning...

beatitude

Hello everyone.

I've felt drawn towards the religious life ever since I was a little girl (since I met my first sister, aged nine) but until recently I wasn't in a position to do anything about the feeling. I visited a Carmelite monastery during my undergraduate years at university (Quidenham, Faithcecelia's old haunt!) and was quite scared by the affinity I felt for that life. Until then I had always assumed that I would be an active sister, and I told God darkly that he had another thing coming if he thought he was getting me behind four walls. I did keep researching, though, and within a couple of months I had found the Carmel of Golders Green. I told God then that if the feeling hadn't gone away by the time I graduated, I would contact those nuns.

A combination of heavy caring responsibilities for a very sick friend (closer than an average friend - our circumstances mean that we've been more like biological sisters) and serious health problems of my own meant that the possibility of monastic life receded. I was secretly relieved by this. I knew that I was unlikely to recover fully from my illness: all the medical staff involved in my care told me that relapse is common, although reprieve is not. I assumed that this meant I was forever disqualifed from religious life. Then I, err, got better. That was unexpected. :blink: I was supposed to say a bit unwell - not unwell enough to have serious problems and have restrictions on the things I wanted to do in life, but unwell enough to avoid this issue!