An Old School Catholic Message Board

Fear And Discernment

Strictlyinkblot

Strictlyinkblot

I've been battling with a very strong sense of fear for about six months now. Part of the anxiety comes from the fact that I feel I shared too much about my discernment in the beginning and I was indiscreet about an order I spent time with. I have apologised for this but I now have this thought going around and around in my head that any order will reject me.

I know it doesn't come from God. I want to email an order I lost contact with but I'm afraid. Any advice? I'm praying about it and I keep coming back to this particular order while my attraction to other orders is fleeting. Also, when I was in contact with them before the need to pay off my debt before I entered was stressed. Which, I do I understand but I felt at the time that I was being told to continue discerning after I paid off my debts. This is only my impression.

What do you all think? Should I wait longer or should I get in contact? I think I know the answer to this already but advice would be welcome.

maximillion

Thing is, in the absence of any definite information the only option is to imagine what is going on. You don't know for definite if any of your intimations and feelings are correct - they are for the most part supposition. Feelings are not a reliable guide to action - or even inaction!

I wonder if you are letting a bit of guilt over your earlier blunder get in your way?

The past is another country - they do things differently there.
Let your past go, start out with a new heart, screw your courage in both hands, trust Him, and FIND OUT by the simple expedient of getting in touch.

BarbTherese

[quote name='maximillion' timestamp='1335171272' post='2422078']